• Fri. Oct 30th, 2020

It’s Flying Time

Byflorence wairimu

Aug 1, 2020

Cabinet secretary James Macharia listed China, Canada, South Korea, Namibia, Uganda, Rwanda, Morocco, Japan, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia and Switzerland as the only countries cleared to flight in Kenya. He later updated the list to include US [except California, Florida and Texas],UK, France, Germany, Netherlands, Qatar, UAE and Italy.

This decision made the Tanzanian Government led by President John Magufuli to block Kenya from her Airspace due to exclusion from among the cleared countries to flight in Kenya. Tanzania’s Aviation Authority Director General Hamza Johari, wrote a letter to the airline and said that, Tanzanian government has rejected Kenya airways flights between Nairobi and Dar/Kilimanjaro/Zanzibar as from 1st August 2020 until further notice.

Hamza also stated that decision was prompted by Kenya’s decision to exclude Tanzania from the list of the countries cleared.  

Follow us in social media:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *